2020 Distinguished Alumni Hall of Fame Nomination Form (389.1 KiB, 1,338 hits)

The Distinguished Alumni Hall of Fame was the brainchild of Frank Calvin. He and then-Superintendent, Louis Cardamone, formed a committee of school personnel and community leaders to develop the Warren High Schools’ Distinguished Alumni Hall of Fame. Original committee members were Frank Calvin, Louis Cardamone, Rozen Patterson (Lymor), the late Frank Bubba, Audrey Freeman, Scott Lehman, Myrtle Angel, the late Augusta Barrick, Martha Ellers and Suzanne Fowley. The first induction banquet was held in 1993.

WHS’ Distinguished Alumni Hall of Fame 2022 Yearbook

WHS’ DHOF PROGRAM: April 30, 2022

April 30, 2022

Warren High Schools’ Distinguished Alumni Hall of Fame inducts four new members  

 WARREN – The Board of Directors of the Warren City Schools’ Foundation and the Committee of The Warren High Schools’ Distinguished Alumni Hall of Fame on Saturday (April 30) inducted the Class of 2022 during the 30th Annual Awards Dinner.

All of the 2022 inductees are graduates of Warren G. Harding High School. They are:

  • William E. Kush of Warren, a 1971 graduate and longtime employee of Warren City Schools serving as supervisor of plant maintenance, operations and warehouse;
  • Manuel N. Maligas of Spring, Texas, a 1961 graduate who went on to pursue a career in the aerospace and oil field industries;
  • Kristen E. Pearson of New Orleans, a 2008 graduate and assistant professor in the School of Medicine, Department of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences, at Tulane University;
  • Raymond D. Yannucci of Stow, a 1961 graduate who started his journalism career at the Warren Tribune Chronicle then went on to work for the Dover/New Philadelphia Times-Reporter as Scholastic Sports Editor and the Akron Beacon Journal, among other publications.

Also at this year’s awards dinner, 36 Harding High School graduating seniors were awarded, collectively, $50,000 in scholarships.

Additionally, members of the Distinguished Alumni Hall of Fame’s Class of 2020-2021 were recognized for the first time in person. The 2020 awards dinner was cancelled because of health and safety concerns due to COVID-19.

This year’s awards ceremony, held at Warren G. Harding High School, marked the first in-person event since the statewide shutdown in 2020.

Last year, the Foundation Board and the Hall of Fame Committee inducted the seven new members as the Class of 2020-2021 and recognized them with a virtual ceremony in lieu of an in-person gathering. Members of the Class of 2020-21 are: 


  • Robert Berk of Warren, a 1972 Warren G. Harding graduate, went on to serve as CEO of Berk Enterprises;
  • Adam Cash of Cortland, a 1998 Harding graduate, specializes in plastic and reconstructive surgery and is adjunct professor at Mercy Health, Ohio University College of Osteopathic Medicine, Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine, Gannon University, and NEOUCOM;
  • Edward Lukco of Dresden, a 1966 Harding graduate, went on to become a professor at The Ohio State University, Ohio Dominican and Franklin in the College of Arts and Sciences;
  • The late Nick Macris, a 1944 Harding graduate, pursued a career in education as a teacher and administrator for various school districts before serving as superintendent of Howland Local School District;
  • Constantine “Angelo” Kafantari of Torrance, California, a 2002 Harding graduate, pursued a career in automotive design and is CEO of Hyperion, working with NASA to create electric vehicles;
  • Vincent Peterson of Warren, a 1982 Warren Western Reserve High School graduate, went on to become officer-in-charge of adult probation and staff supervisor; U.S. Marshal’s Violent Fugitive Task Force supervisor; and an FBI hostage negotiator;
  • Sara Kingsbery Walsh of Princeton, New Jersey, a 1966 Harding graduate, pursued a legal career devoted to public service law, first as a public defender then with the Legal Services of New Jersey.

With each induction ceremony, the Alumni Hall of Fame’s Committee and the Warren City Schools’ Foundation Board of Directors also honor two “Distinguished Faculty” members of the Warren City Schools.  This year, Frank Bubba, longtime Warren City Schools teacher and basketball coach, and Tony Berarducci, longtime Warren teacher, principal, assistant superintendent, personnel director and superintendent, were recognized.

Nicholas J. Angelo, former physical education teacher, coach and guidance counselor as well as district business manager, and Frank Supancic, social studies teacher and swim coach, were recognized as the 2020-2021 Distinguished Faculty.


William Kush, WGH Class of 1971
Manuel Maligas, WGH Class of 1961

Raymond Yannucci, WGH Class of 1961